Updating Fun

So I just spent the last hour updating to the newest version of the Android SDK and it didn’t go as smoothly as I had expected.

So with the update to the SDK, the Android Debug Bridge (adb) moved from /tools to /platform-tools.  The adb is necessary for such important things as installing and uninstalling packages onto the phone or virtual device so it’s a real issue when it disappears from Eclipse.  I tried to rectify this through the preferences, there was nothing I could do.  I tried restarting Eclipse and adb to no avail.  I tried including the /platform-tools in my PATH variable but sadly that did not help either.

Finally, I remembered that the plugin for Eclipse was a separate entity from the Android SDK.  I was able to update the Android Development Tools (ADT) plugin for Eclipse (after only 1 fatal error) which remedied the problem.

Leave a comment

Filed under Android

Leave a Reply

